Marianske Lazne

Perfectly kept parks, attractive architecture, an ever present nature, the wide offer of free time activities and a rich and famous history all combine to make Mariánské Lázně one of the most popular holiday destinations. See which tourist attractions you should not miss.

Marianske Lazne is a relatively young spa town, developed at the beginning of the 19th century in a valley where several excellent healing streams spring from the ground, though its inhabitants were aware of the springs as early as the 1200s. In 1528, King Ferdinand ordered these springs to be examined for salt content. In 1805–1807, Dr. Johann Josef Nehr founded the first brick house for spa guests near the Cross Spring (Křížový) called 'The Golden Globe', built on the site of a former wooden cabin. In 1812 it arises municipality of Marianske Lazne from the decision of Karel Kašpar Reitenberger (abbot of Teplá Premonstrate Monastery).

On 6. 11. 1818 Marianske Lazne was declared as public spa by government decree issued by the Chief Burgrave K. F. Libštejnský. Between 1817 and 1823, three noted citizens - horticulturist Václav Skalník, architect Jiří Fischer and builder Anton Turner, financially supported by the Abbot Karel Kašpar Reitenberger, turned this inhospitable and marshy valley into a beautiful park city featuring neoclassical houses, pergolas, pavilions and colonnades.

Numerous cultural, scientific and political personalities came from all over the world to visit Mariánské Lázně, notably Johann Wolfgang Goethe, Prince Friedrich of Saxony, Earl Kašpar Šternberk, Joens Jakob Berzelius, Václav Jan Tomášek, and Marie Szymanowsky. Marianske Lazne are remembering on stay of Fryderyk Chopin almost on every step. On Main Street is the House of Chopin with a plaque and Chopin Memorial Museum. Every year Fryderyk Chopin Festival takes place. You can find here a street and musical school named after him.

On 29.5. 1865, Mariánské Lázně was declared a city by Franz Joseph I. Various international celebrities visited the city during those days, such as Fryrderyk Chopin, Richard Wagner, Anton Bruckner. Between 1870 and 1914, Mariánské Lázně reveled in its Golden Age, reflected today in its numerous reconstructed and newly built Art Nouveau spa houses, hotels, colonnades and churches, designed by architects such as Friedrich Zickler, Josef Schaffer, Arnold Heymann and Josef Forberich. Parks were enlarged, and romantic lookout points were created.

In 1872, the city was connected by railway with Cheb, Vienna and Prague through Plzeň and in 1898 with Karlovy Vary. During this period, many more luminaries came to visit Mariánské Lázně: Gustav Mahler, Friedrich Nietzsche, Franz Kafka, Rudyard Kipling, Mark Twain, Thomas Alva Edison, Pierre de Coubertin, the English king Edward VII, the Russian Czar Nicholas II, and Emperor Franz Joseph I.
The spa life remained active through the first half of the 20th century. Famous people were still drawn to Mariánské Lázně, such as Tomáš Garrigue Masaryk and Edvard Beneš.

The differing chemical composition of the town’s numerous springs makes it the perfect place to treat a wide variety of ailments. The large variety of local springs are the foundation resource for the many spa treatments available. In the local nature surrounding the town, there are 100 springs that emerge and within the town itself there are 40 springs that rise naturally. Various springs are now sheltered by pavilions and colonnades that have been built over them during the years, all of which help create the town’s picturesque spa atmosphere.

Springs from Marianske Lazne cures:

  • Disorders of the Kidneys and of the Urinary Tract
  • Respiratory Disorders
  • Locomotive System Disorders
  • Metabolic Disorders
  • Gynaecological Disorders, including the Treatment of Sterility
  • Oncological Disorders

Cross Spring - the most famous spring - The Cross Spring - was originally called Salty because of it's taste, with the Ferdinand Spring also initially having this reputation. When, in 1749, a pharmacist from Teplá, called Damian Schulz erected a high cross from the trees in the area of the salty spring which was surrounded by a stone circle, people began to talk of the Cross Spring.

Ferdinand Spring - This water has a markedly salty taste with a composition similar to the Cross Spring (křížový), but more mineralized. It was the first Spring to attract attention to what was, at that time, a largely uninhabited and quite desolate far-off border forest. From the 16th century, it was often used in the production of salt - with unusual effects – in this region they didn't produce cooking salt (which was always necessary) but a laxative form of salt.

Forest Spring - Back in 1840, there was originally a circular column supported pavilion which was replaced by the Colonnade we see today and which was designed by architect Bedřich Zicker. The springs are used for drinkable treatments and for gargling direct from the outlet. Waters then run to the building of the Hotel Pacifik, where it is used for drinking and inhaling.

Rudolph Spring - Marianske Lazne’s fames as a spa destination for the treatment of urinary tract diseases is because of the Rudolph Spring (Rudolfův). This water can be drunk directly from the wooden pavilion but the water is also stored and pumped to the spa drinking pavilion on the Colonnade and to the water bottling facility in town where it is commercially bottled. The water from the old Rudolph Spring (Rudolfův) is used in drinking therapies and bottling and Rudolph Springs (Rudolfův) 1 and 2 are used for bathing.

Ambrose Springs - Ambrose (Ambrožův) was named after the enlightened Abbot Jeronym Ambroz, who sought to make these waters accessible to those in need. It used to be and is still sometimes called the 'Spring of Love'. With its high content of iron, it is used to treat anemia, chlorosis and to bring a healthy ruddy glow to the cheeks. Records of the spring's first tapping go back to the year 1807.The water is used both for drinking and in the preparation of carbon dioxide baths.

Karolina Spring - A ferrous carbonated mineral water, slightly mineralized with high magnesium content. Karolina Spring, bubbles up under the old colonnade under the church, where it was in 1809, named the New Spring. In 1817 it was covered by a dome with 8 corinthian columns and named in honour of the then Emperor Franz I's wife- Karolina Augusta.

More informations on website https://www.marianskelazne.cz

Czech Republic - Marianske lazne
© Dreamstime.com/Quicktour
Springs in Marianske lazne
© Léčebné Lázně Mariánské Lázně
Nebyly nalezeny žádné výsledky.


České Budějovice
+420 606 600 907